Thursday, June 02, 2022

Hawkeye great Dallas Clark among 7 new inductees into Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame

Dustin Schutte | June 1, 2022

Former Iowa tight end Dallas Clark is one of seven former Hawkeye student athletes who will be inducted into the school’s athletics Hall of Fame as a member of the 2022 class. The school released a statement on Wednesday.


Clark was a tight end for the Hawkeyes from 2000-02 and went on to have a tremendous career in the NFL. In his final season with at Iowa, Clark was a first-team All-B1G and All-American selection. He was also named the winner of the John Mackey Award, presented to the nation’s top tight end.


During that 2002 season, Clark was responsible for 43 catches, 742 receiving yards and 4 touchdowns. He was a key component for an Iowa team that finished with an 11-2 record and went 8-0 in B1G play.


Clark’s career at Iowa finished with 1,281 yards and 8 touchdowns on 81 receptions, averaging 15.8 yards per catch.

After his career at Iowa concluded, Clark was a first-round selection by Indianapolis in the 2003 NFL Draft, going No. 24 overall. He spent 9 of his 11 seasons with the Colts and was a Pro Bowl Selection and the NFL’s Tight End of the Year in 2009. Clark also won a Super Bowl with Indianapolis.


Clark finished his career by spending one season with Tampa Bay and concluded with a year at Baltimore. He posted 505 receptions for 5,665 yards and 53 receiving touchdowns.


The other Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame inductees for 2022 include:

·         Amy Fowler, Field Hockey (1989-92)

·         Dan Holm, Wrestling (1972-75)

·         Kari Knopf, Softball (1994-97)

·         Keith Noreen, Baseball (1987-90)

·         George Roddy, Men’s Golf (1930-31)

·         Nancilea Underwood, Women’s Swimming and Diving (2001-03, 2004-06)

Popular Posts