Friday, February 15, 2019

Yanda’s seventh Pro Bowl adds to legacy

·         Feb 14, 2019 Updated 16 hrs ago

Marshal Yanda earned his seventh Pro Bowl this past season. These are seven consecutive that Marshal has played. He also earned the Ed Block Courage Award, voted on by his Baltimore Ravens teammates.
The Pro Football Hall of Fame currently has 326 members, 286 which are players. There have been more than 26,000 men who have played in the NFL. Only about 1 percent make it all the way to the hall of fame. Three Iowa Hawkeyes have been enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Emlen Tunnell, Paul Krause and Andre Tippett.
By comparing just the number of Pro Bowls, Marshal has equaled or passed 179 of the 286 players already enshrined into the hall of fame.
Here are just 30 hall of famers he has passed so far: Troy Aikman, Marcus Allen, Jerome Bettis, Terry Bradshaw, Earl Campbell, Larry Csonka, Terrell Davis, Eric Dickerson, Mike Ditka, Tony Dorsett, Carl Eller, Dan Fouts, Red Grange, Bob Griese, Charles Haley, Michael Irvin, Charlie Joiner, Jim Kelly, Curtis Martin, Randy Moss, Joe Namath, Ozzie Newsome, Ray Nitschke, Terrell Owens, Ken Stabler, Bart Starr, Roger Staubach, Lynn Swann, Andre Tippett and Doak Walker.
Since 1936, there have been 253 Hawkeyes drafted into the NFL. I believe Marshal has already earned the Iowa Hawkeyes NFL Mount Rushmore alongside Tunnell, Krause and Tippett. One of Marshal’s top awards is the Bruce Matthews Award, for the top offensive linemen in the NFL. He should also receive the NFL All-Decade Team for 2010-2019 and someday be inducted into the Baltimore Ravens’ Ring of Honor.
Marshal proudly wore the black and gold for the Iowa Hawkeyes. I believe someday he will be wearing gold again, that will be the day Canton, Ohio presents him with a gold jacket for being the first native Iowa Hawkeye to be enshrined into the hall of fame.
Tim Hollett

Popular Posts