Thursday, December 08, 2016

Dede Westbrook AP Big 12 offensive player of the year, Stoops named coach of the year

By Brooke Pryor
December 6, 2016

NORMAN — As a state, Oklahoma nearly swept the Associated Press' top four All-Big 12 postseason awards.

A day after being named a Heisman finalist, Oklahoma wide receiver Dede Westbrook was named the Big 12's offensive player of the year by the Associated Press. Coach Bob Stoops was tabbed as the conference's coach of the year for a record fifth time.

Oklahoma State Running back Justice Hill was also named the conference's newcomer of the year.

OU placed seven players on the AP's All-Big 12 first team and four more on the second team.

Westbrook was also a unanimous selection to the AP's All-Big 12 first team along with Texas' D'Onta Foreman, Kansas State defensive end Jordan Willis and West Virginia cornerback Rasul Douglas.

Quarterback Baker Mayfield, offensive tackle Orlando Brown, running back Joe Mixon, tight end/wide receiver Mark Andrews, linebacker Jordan Evans and cornerback Jordan Thomas were all named to the first team.

Running back Samaje Perine, offensive guard Ben Powers and linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo were all put on the second team. Mixon also landed on the second team as an all-purpose player.

Oklahoma State was also well represented in the postseason honors, placing three — receiver James Washington, defensive tackle Vincent Taylor and safety Jordan Sterns — on the first team.

OSU also had five players on the second team: offensive tackle Victor Salako, tight end Blake Jarwin, linebacker Devante Averette, kicker Ben Grogan and punter Zach Sinor.

Quarterback — Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Running backs — u-D'Onta Foreman, Texas; Joe Mixon, Oklahoma
Tackles — Connor Williams, Texas; Orlando Brown, Oklahoma,
Guards — Terrale Johnson, Kansas State; Kyle Bosch, West Virginia
Center — Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia
Receivers — u-Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma; James Washington, Oklahoma State
Tight end — Mark Andrews, Oklahoma
All-purpose player — Shelton Gibson, West Virginia
Kicker — Cole Netten, Iowa State

Ends — u-Jordan Willis, Kansas State; Dorance Armstrong, Kansas
Tackles — Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State; Will Geary, Kansas State
Linebackers — Travin Howard, TCU; Elijah Lee, Kansas State; Jordan Evans, Oklahoma
Cornerbacks — u-Rasul Douglas, West Virginia; Jordan Thomas, Oklahoma
Safeties — Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma State; Orion Stewart, Baylor
Punter — Michael Dickson, Texas

Quarterback — Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech
Running backs — Samaje Perine, Oklahoma; Justin Crawford, West Virginia
Tackles — Dalton Risner, Kansas State; Victor Salako, Oklahoma State
Guards — Ben Powers, Oklahoma; Adam Pankey, West Virginia
Center —Kyle Fuller, Baylor
Receivers — Jonathan Giles, Texas Tech; KD Cannon, Baylor
Tight end — Blake Jarwin, Oklahoma State
All-purpose player — Joe Mixon, Oklahoma
Kicker — Ben Grogan, Oklahoma St.

Ends — Josh Carraway, TCU; Breckyn Hager, Texas
Tackles — Daniel Wise, Kansas; Aaron Curry, TCU
Linebackers — Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, Oklahoma; Devante Averette, Oklahoma St.; Malik Jefferson, Texas
Cornerbacks — Ranthony Texada, TCU; D.J. Reed, Kansas State
Safeties — Denzel Johnson, TCU; Fish Smithson, Kansas
Punter — Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State

Coach of the year — Bob Stoops, Oklahoma.
Offensive player of the year — Dede Westbrook, WR, Sr., Oklahoma.
Defensive player of the year — Jordan Willis, DE, Sr., Kansas State.
Newcomer of the year — Justice Hill, RB, Fr., Oklahoma State.

Popular Posts