Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Add former Buckeyes safety Christian Bryant to the list of official 2013 Ohio State football captains

Christian Bryant is one of six players who will officially be recognized as an Ohio State captain for the 2013 football season.(Marvin Fong, The Plain Dealer)

By Ari Wasserman, Northeast Ohio Media Group

April 28, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Urban Meyer decided to elect eight captains before the start of the 2013 football season because he said there were too many candidates to further narrow the list.

Four months after Ohio State finished the season 12-2, Meyer officially announced five captains who would officially be recognized in the record books as a Buckeyes' captain for the 2013 season – offensive lineman Jack Mewhort, receiver Philly Brown, safety C.J. Barnett, offensive lineman Corey Linsley and backup quarterback Kenny Guiton.

The list should have been six, including safety Christian Bryant, who was inadvertently left off the first list.

The other two players who were captains but will not be officially listed in the record books are quarterback Braxton Miller and linebacker Ryan Shazier. Miller is expected to be a captain this year as a senior, but Shazier left Ohio State a year early to pursue a career in the NFL.

It was kind of a surprise when Bryant, a product of Glenville, was left off the initial list because Meyer often cited him as the defense's true leader even after he broke his ankle at the end of the Wisconsin game in the fifth week of the season.

Meyer slammed his fist on the podium in the postgame news conferencewhen delivering the news that Bryant's career would be over because of the injury, both because he was hurting for the senior and he knew the Buckeyes' defense took a big blow.

The six captains now will officially be listed in the record books and they'll all be invited back each year for a former captains dinner.

Popular Posts