Wednesday, August 15, 2012

NC Sports clients honored in Ohio State Football's All-Time Dream Team

From Tim Bielik's "Ohio State Football: The All-Time Dream Team"

August 15, 2012

QB: Troy Smith

Of all the Heisman Trophy winners in the school's history, Troy Smith is the only quarterback to bring home the hardware.

Smith's senior season, sans the national championship game, was incredible and almost set the standard for what a true dual-threat quarterback should be able to do.

Smith racked up about 8,000 yards of total offense and 68 touchdowns in his career, 31 of which came in the 2006 season.

Ohio State has had some solid quarterbacks in recent years, but Smith has been a cut above the rest, and he should be the standard for how Buckeye quarterbacks should play.

WRs: Cris Carter, Ted Ginn, Jr.; TE: John Frank

Ohio State has produced as many good receivers in the past 25 years as any other school in the country, and the two best from those eras couldn't be more different.

Ted Ginn, Jr. may have been the fastest receiver in school history, with an ability to get behind almost any DB at will.

Ginn finished his career with over 4,000 all-purpose yards and 26 touchdowns between rushing, receiving and returning.

His last touchdown was a kickoff return against the Florida Gators in the 2007 BCS National Championship Game. Unfortunately, he got injured and missed the rest of the game.

Ohio State has not had a great history of TEs, but John Frank was an excellent player at the position.

Frank is the career leader among TEs in receptions (121) and yards with 1,481. He was a two-time All-American.

DL: Mike Vrabel, Dan Wilkinson, Jim Stillwagon, Bill Willis

The defensive front four of the OSU Dream Team is full of relentless, athletic players that made plays in both the running game as well as while rushing the passer.

Mike Vrabel, now an assistant with the Buckeyes, recorded 33 sacks and 66 TFLs in his career, both of which are school records. He then went on to help New England win three Super Bowls.

LBs: Chris Spielman, Andy Katzenmoyer, A.J. Hawk

Ohio State has long been a linebacker powerhouse and produced three amazingly talented linebackers in three respective decades.

Andy Katzenmoyer may have been the most imposing linebacker in school history, as "Big Kat" towered over opposing offenses.

He started 37 games from 1994-96 and recorded 197 tackles, 50 of which were losses and 18 sacks. He was also the first inside linebacker in school history to win the Butkus Award.

K: Mike Nugent; P: Tom Tupa

When it comes to kickers at Ohio State, Mike Nugent was as reliable as they come.

Nugent has the career marks in FG percentage (.818) and scoring with 365 points. He also won the Lou Groza Award and was named a first-team All-American in 2004.

Tom Tupa was very reliable as well, not just as a punter but also as a quarterback.

He threw for 1,786 seasons and 12 TDs as a senior in 1987, starting both at quarterback and at punter. Tupa enjoyed an 18-year career in the NFL with a career average of 43.4 yards per punt.

Popular Posts