Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Tyler Nielsen named National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete of the Day

March 26, 2012

College Football Hall of Fame coaches Frank Broyles and Darrell Royal appeared at the Champion United to Fight Alzheimer’s Spring Luncheon last week in Dallas. Included in the luncheon panel were former Arkansas players Jerry Jones (an NFF Board Member), Chuck Dicus (a 1999 College Football Hall of Fame inductee), Ken Hatfieldand Bill Montgomery, and former Texas player Tom Campbell, Tommy Stocktonand James Street.

The NFF has two dates on’s "The 50 Most Important Days of the College Football Season" list. The two dates are the May 15 announcement of the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Class and the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, where the 2012 Hall of Fame Class will be inducted.

College Football Hall of Famer Herschel Walker (Georgia) recently urged servicemen to take care of their mental health.

NFF Board Member and 2008 NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award honoree Bill Battle has been named a Sports Business Champion by Sports Business Journal.

NFF Board Member Jim Nantz has been nominated for a Sports Emmy. A two-time Outstanding Sports Personality – Play-By-Play honoree, Nantz has again been nominated in that category. Nantz will call the NCAA Final Four courtside on March 31 and April 2.

2006 NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award honoree College GameDay on ESPN was once again nominated for a Sports Emmy in Outstanding Studio Show – Weekly. Kirk Herbstreit received a Sports Emmy nomination for “Outstanding Sports Personality – Sports Event Analyst” as well.

The documentary film focusing on the Army-Navy rivalry game, A Game of Honor, featuring 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy winner Andrew Rodriguez (Army) and 2011 NFF National Scholar-Athlete John Dowd (Navy), was also nominated for a Sports Emmy under Outstanding Sports Documentary. The film also boasted four other nominations under technical and promotional categories.

2011 Campbell Trophy semifinalist Ben Boothby (Northern Iowa) was named the FCS ADA Scholar-Athlete of the Year last week.

College Football Hall of Famer Bo Jackson (Auburn) will be doing a charity bike ride across Alabama from April 24-28. Find information at

College Football Hall of Fame coach Lloyd Carr spoke at a fundraiser for Bedford (Mich.) High School last week.

Campbell Trophy semifinalist Tyler Nielsen of Iowa is the NFF's Scholar-Athlete of the Day, presented by Fidelity Investments. Check daily at to see which Campbell Trophy candidate is the Scholar-Athlete of the Day.

Popular Posts