Monday, February 21, 2011

2010 Ed Block Courage Award Winner: Aaron Kampman

February 21, 2011

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation will celebrate the 33nd annual Ed Block Courage Awards March 8 at Martin's West. One player from every NFL team will be honored for his commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship while serving as an inspiration in the locker rooms and community. In anticipation of the big night, PressBox is profiling each award winner.

DE Aaron Kampman has been named the Jacksonville Jaguars' 2010 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

Kampman exemplifies courage and honor. His outstanding dedication and sportsmanship to his team have provided him the prestigious honor as the Ed Block Courage Award Recipient. Kampman is an inspiration and role model whose goal is to help the positive atmosphere among his teammates. Aaron is an outstanding spokesman and leader to young NFL athletes, and dedicated himself to making those around him better. Kampman is a true team player and leader on and off the field.

Kampman is a dedicated husband and father who takes pride in daily success.
Kampman suffered a significant football injury in November of 2009. He injured his anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in his left knee. The ACL is a significant knee stabilizer and makes playing professional football very difficult, if not impossible, without it. Kampman chose to have his ACL reconstructed and continue his NFL career. As a seasoned veteran, Kampman knew many around him that had suffered the similar injury and results were varied. For Kampman, the only option was to continue football and succeed. Aaron spent his 2010 offseason rehabilitating his knee and accomplished his goal of returning for the 2010 season.

Kampman returned to his role as team leader and successful defensive player, before tearing the ACL in his right knee in Week Eight of the 2010 season.

Popular Posts