Thursday, June 18, 2009

Bob Stoops Coaching Accomplishments

By Boomer Sooner

June 15, 2009

• Stoops is 109-24 overall, 72-14 vs. the Big 12, 39-10 vs. the Big 12 South, 31-4 vs. the Big 12 North, 6-1 in the Big 12 title game, 37-10 vs. non-conference opponents, 60-2 at home, 31-11 on the road, 16-11 on neutral fields, 33-12 vs. ranked opponents, 4-6 in bowls, 3-5 in January bowls and 2-5 in BCS games.

• OU has set or tied more than 180 school records under Stoops, not including bowl bests and marks specific to a particular position (i.e., receptions by a running back). Among those marks under Stoops are passing for a game, season and career; receiving for a game, season and career; and rushing for a season.

• Stoops has authored two of the seven longest winning streaks in Oklahoma history. His 2000 and 2001 teams won 20 straight, while the 2002 and 2003 teams reeled off 14 in a row. Those victories all came against I-A opponents.

• Oklahoma owns the nation’s longest home field winning streak at 24. That’s the second longest streak in school history just one behind a 25-in-a-row string that ended in 1953. Stoops also has fashioned two other streaks of 19 straight.

• OU won the 2000 national championship, played for two more and captured six Big 12 South crowns and six Big 12 titles. Oklahoma has spent 24 weeks at No. 1.

• OU has held a double-digit lead in 112 of Stoops’ 133 games.

• Oklahoma has played in 10 bowl games. Never had an OU coach taken even his first three teams to bowls. Prior to Stoops’ arrival, OU had not played in one of what is now a BCS game since the 1988 Orange Bowl (1987 season). Stoops, in his second season, led OU to the 2001 Orange Bowl (2000 season).

• An OU player has finished among the top seven in the Heisman voting six times on Stoops’ watch: Sam Bradford (No. 1 in 2008), Adrian Peterson (No. 2 in 2004), Jason White (No. 3 in 2004), Jason White (No. 1 in 2003), Roy Williams (No. 7 in 2001) and Josh Heupel (No. 2 in 2000).

• Under Stoops, OU has produced 29 All-Americans; two AP Players of the Year (Heupel, White); two Nagurski Award winners (Williams, Derrick Strait); two Thorpe Award winners (Williams, Strait); two Butkus Award winners (Rocky Calmus, Teddy Lehman); one Bednarik Award winner (Lehman); one Lombardi Award winner (Tommie Harris); one Walter Camp winner (Heupel); three O’Brien Award winners (Sam Bradford and White twice); a Maxwell Award winner (White); a Unitas Award winner (White); an Outland Trophy winner (Jammal Brown) and one Mosi Tatupu Award winner (J.T. Thatcher).

• OU has had a Butkus finalist in four of the last eight years and a Lombardi finalist in three of the last six. The Sooners also have had finalists for the Biletnikoff, Groza, Guy, Hendricks, Mackey and Doak Walker awards.

• In 1996 and 1997, his Florida defense scored eight touchdowns. The 1996 Gators won the national championship.

• During his final four seasons in Manhattan, Kansas State posted a 35-12 record and played in three bowl games.

Popular Posts